Middle and Northern Norway

Svein Tore Dahl and Kåre Hasselberg use the terms Middle Norway and Northern Norway in their books about officials and clergy. These terms may not be univocal to all, for which reason an explanation may be relevant.
But the thing is that a single correct definition does not exist. Both the clerical and administrative division changed several times in the period from 1536 to 1700. One obvious source for change was the wars between Denmark-Norway and Sweden, but also a number of internal changes took place.
The most simple definition can be derived from the map to the left. Middle Norway consists of the present counties Sør-Trøndelag and Nord-Trøndelag (with a bit of the county Møre og Romsdal), while Northern Norway consists of the present counties Nordland, Troms and Finmark.
A more correct - but less descriptive - definition is that the subject of the books are the areas whose archival material are located in Trondheim.

Most recently updated 28 May 2002
Jan Tuxen